Make A Personal To Do List To Increase Productivity

by Doug Smith, President, The Woodhaven Group

Have you ever gone home at the end of the day and wondered why nothing got accomplished?  Sometimes it seems like our time is consumed with urgent but not important tasks that don’t contribute to increasing sales, profit, cash flow or the net worth of the company.

We have all been there.  So, what do you do? 

It’s not really anything magical.  I go back to creating lists of the most important things that have to be done today to move the company forward.  It is nothing more than setting priorities on how you will spend your day.  It is important for me that I rank top to bottom the order in which I want projects accomplished.  As I finish an item I make sure to cross it off the list.  Not only does it make me feel good but it shows how much progress I am making getting through that day’s list.

When issues come up during the day that are not on my list, I make sure to delegate those to a manager and then follow-up later to make sure everything turned out well.

If you want or need a more structured approach to laying out your day the best source is Stephen Covey’s book First Things First.  You can read more about it here.

A successful CEO or owner must be productive and setting priorities using daily lists is one tool to achieve that goal.  Use this tip the next time and that ride home will be more enjoyable.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

